Chronic weight management
Labeled adult indication.1
Oral nonpeptide GLP-1 receptor agonist
FDA approved in 2026 as Foundayo for chronic weight management in qualifying adults.
Labeled adult indication.1
Not applicable: this compound is not a single peptide.
The labeled tablet expresses dose as orforglipron; salt mass differs.
Illustrative model using reported human data.
Five half-lives in this simplified model. This is not a prediction of when effects stop.
39 hours is a display midpoint, not a measured mean. Most label PK used the corresponding investigational formulation.
Population: Human studies summarized in the Foundayo label
100 × 2−time / half-life. Time zero is a reference level, not the moment of administration. Absorption, repeated dosing, metabolites and clinical effects are not modeled. Five half-lives leaves 3.125%, not zero. This curve cannot determine a dosing interval.
This value is reported by a secondary reference. The stated attribution has not been independently verified as a route- and formulation-matched human PK measurement.
Illustrative scenario using an unverified reference estimate. Shading shows the reported half-life range. No midpoint is assumed.
Five half-lives in this estimated model. This is not a prediction of when effects stop.
Population: Not established by the reference estimate
Source’s stated attribution: Eli Lilly Phase 1 Studies
Source’s reported peak time: 8 hrs. This has not been independently confirmed and is not used in the elimination curve.
100 × 2−time / half-life. Time zero is a reference level, not the moment of administration. Absorption, repeated dosing, metabolites and clinical effects are not modeled. Five half-lives leaves 3.125%, not zero. This curve cannot determine a dosing interval.
ACHIEVE-4 in adults with type 2 diabetes and elevated cardiovascular risk met its noninferiority endpoint versus insulin glargine. Its confidence interval includes no difference.2
ACHIEVE-5 used 3, 12 and 36 mg investigational daily doses with insulin glargine. Those strengths must not be substituted into the Foundayo tablet schedule.3
Source describes appetite/GI adaptation then gradual weight response; no individual guarantee.12
These are reported timelines, not a prediction of your response.
Scroll to compare all columns →
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Goal / evidence | Duration | References |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OralOral tablet | 0.8 mg — initiation | Once daily | Labeled weight managementQualifying adultsProduct label | Ongoing clinician assessment | 1 |
Population Qualifying adults Context Escalation steps require at least 30 days; trial capsules use different strengths. Source dose wording Starts 0.8 mg; labeled maximum 17.2 mg | |||||
| OralOral tablet | 17.2 mg — labeled maximum | Once daily | Labeled weight managementQualifying adultsProduct label | Ongoing clinician assessment | 1 |
Population Qualifying adults Context Escalation steps require at least 30 days; trial capsules use different strengths. Source dose wording Starts 0.8 mg; labeled maximum 17.2 mg | |||||
| OralOral tablet | 0.8 mg dailyStarting dose | Once daily, any time | Starting dose (first 30 days)Reference report | Long-term continuous therapy (72+ weeks studied) | 12 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels are not safety findings; formulation-specific tablet and trial-capsule doses differ. Additional interaction rows follow the July 2026 FDA label; reference-only pairing claims remain separate. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| OralOral tablet | 2.5 mg daily | Once daily, any time | First titration (after 30 days)Reference report | Long-term continuous therapy (72+ weeks studied) | 12 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels are not safety findings; formulation-specific tablet and trial-capsule doses differ. Additional interaction rows follow the July 2026 FDA label; reference-only pairing claims remain separate. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| OralOral tablet | 5.5 mg daily | Once daily, any time | Second titration (after 60 days)Reference report | Long-term continuous therapy (72+ weeks studied) | 12 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels are not safety findings; formulation-specific tablet and trial-capsule doses differ. Additional interaction rows follow the July 2026 FDA label; reference-only pairing claims remain separate. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| OralOral tablet | 9 mg daily | Once daily, any time | Third titration (based on response)Reference report | Long-term continuous therapy (72+ weeks studied) | 12 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels are not safety findings; formulation-specific tablet and trial-capsule doses differ. Additional interaction rows follow the July 2026 FDA label; reference-only pairing claims remain separate. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| OralOral tablet | 14.5 mg daily | Once daily, any time | Fourth titration (based on response)Reference report | Long-term continuous therapy (72+ weeks studied) | 12 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels are not safety findings; formulation-specific tablet and trial-capsule doses differ. Additional interaction rows follow the July 2026 FDA label; reference-only pairing claims remain separate. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| OralOral tablet | 17.2 mg daily | Once daily, any time | Maximum approved doseReference report | Long-term continuous therapy (72+ weeks studied) | 12 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels are not safety findings; formulation-specific tablet and trial-capsule doses differ. Additional interaction rows follow the July 2026 FDA label; reference-only pairing claims remain separate. Source tabs Oral | |||||
No protocols match these filters.
Study and label doses retain their study context. Reference reports are unvalidated practices, not personal treatment instructions. Ranges remain ranges; escalation stages are labeled.
Reported use periods and breaks. These do not establish a safe cycle or prove that breaks prevent tolerance.
Any time of day, with or without food, with or without water
Personal/family medullary thyroid carcinoma or MEN2 is contraindicated.
1Nausea, vomiting and diarrhea are common class-related concerns; see full label.
1MTC/MEN2 contraindication, pancreatitis, severe GI disease, dehydration/kidney injury, hypoglycemia, allergy, gallbladder and aspiration concerns.
GI symptoms, headache/fatigue and hair loss; pregnancy and severe hepatic impairment warrant particular review.
Severe abdominal/back pain, neck symptoms, confusion/low glucose, breathing/swelling, reduced urine or vision changes.
Not a complete safety screen. Discuss health decisions with a qualified clinician.
Check cautions and reported pairings. A compatibility claim does not establish that a combination is safe.
Other GLP-1 use not recommended.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Avoid CombinationOverlapping GLP-1 action.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Avoid CombinationOverlapping GLP-1 action.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Avoid CombinationHypoglycemia risk.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Monitor CombinationHypoglycemia risk.14
Primary sourceBackup contraception 30 days after starting/escalation.14
Primary sourceFoundayo maximum 9 mg/day; clinician review.14
Primary sourceJuly 2026 FDA label.14
Primary sourceJuly 2026 FDA label.14
Primary sourceMay reduce effectiveness; clinician review.14
Primary sourceMaximum 20 mg/day with Foundayo.14
Primary sourceClinically important interactions require product-specific prescribing review.1
Research contextDiabetes-context co-treatment.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticDiabetes-context research.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleLean-mass claim unproven.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleLean-mass claim unproven.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleUntested pairing.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleUntested pairing.12
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleNo matching interactions. Try another name or filter.
No bacteriostatic-water preparation; oral use only.1
Reported handling information, not a validated formulation or instruction to prepare an injectable product.
The source describes an oral tablet requiring no mixing.
Missed-dose and product-handling instructions should be checked against the exact current approved label.
Appearance and a purity certificate cannot establish sterility, identity, or suitability for injection.
0.8, 2.5, 5.5, 9, 14.5 and 17.2 mg strengths.1
Packaging examples, not a market survey. Approved and research products are not interchangeable.
The available sources describe prepared products or do not establish a reconstitution method.12
Storage depends on the formulation, diluent, container, and handling. Follow the specific product label or pharmacist’s instructions.
Research-market product identity, purity and formulation cannot be established from a publication.2
4 distinct primary sources or abstracts checked. Evidence may concern a parent compound, individual blend ingredient, animal, or cell model; it does not necessarily establish a benefit for this exact product.
Evidence definitions →Source compatibility labels are not safety findings; formulation-specific tablet and trial-capsule doses differ.
Additional interaction rows follow the July 2026 FDA label; reference-only pairing claims remain separate.
Foundayo is an FDA-approved oral weight-management medicine. The commercial tablet and investigational capsules used in trials have different dose strengths.
Other names: Orforglipron (Foundayo)
FDA approved in 2026 as Foundayo for chronic weight management in qualifying adults.
Orforglipron calcium1
GLP-1 signaling affects appetite, glucose and gastric emptying; receptor-bias hypotheses do not prove superior long-term outcomes.12
ACHIEVE-4 in adults with type 2 diabetes and elevated cardiovascular risk met its noninferiority endpoint versus insulin glargine. Its confidence interval includes no difference.
2ACHIEVE-5 used 3, 12 and 36 mg investigational daily doses with insulin glargine. Those strengths must not be substituted into the Foundayo tablet schedule.
3Approved with reduced-calorie diet and activity for adult obesity, or overweight with at least one weight-related comorbidity. This is not blanket approval of all source-listed uses.
FDA regulatory announcement13Interaction details omitted from the reference include strong CYP3A4 inhibitors/inducers and simvastatin. Strong CYP3A4 inhibitors cap Foundayo at 9 mg/day; avoid inhibitors also blocking OATP1B and strong CYP3A4 inducers. Simvastatin is limited to 20 mg/day. The label also specifies oral-contraceptive backup for 30 days after starting and each escalation. Clinician/pharmacist review is needed for specific medicines.
FDA prescribing information14Chronic weight management. Labeled adult indication.1
Weight management. Approved with diet/activity in eligible adults.12
Diabetes/prediabetes research. Glycemic trials do not automatically expand the approved indication.12
Cardiometabolic health. Risk-marker/comorbidity research; event prevention requires separate evidence.12
Pep-Pedia describes community interest and schedules; these are secondary reports, not measured clinical outcomes.4
No representative survey, independently verified products, or controlled outcomes.
The targeted check identified relevant additional literature or current regulatory information; checked findings are separated from retained bibliography-only references.
AI-prepared summaries. Independent medical editorial review is pending.
Voluntary, unverified reports. These percentages do not measure effectiveness or safety.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source displays “52 responses” for this profile. This is not a confirmed participant count or a denominator for individual questions.
Original sources and review status. Open a reference to read its summary.
FDA label for oral tablets; approved strengths differ from investigational capsules. Includes CYP3A4 and other interaction precautions.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
September 2026 phase 3 report: MACE-4 noninferiority to insulin glargine, HR 0.84 (95% CI 0.59–1.20); does not establish superiority.
ACHIEVE-4 in adults with type 2 diabetes and elevated cardiovascular risk met its noninferiority endpoint versus insulin glargine. Its confidence interval includes no difference.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
40-week randomized trial tested investigational 3, 12 or 36 mg daily capsules with insulin glargine, improving HbA1c and weight compared with placebo.
ACHIEVE-5 used 3, 12 and 36 mg investigational daily doses with insulin glargine. Those strengths must not be substituted into the Foundayo tablet schedule.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
Accessed October 12, 2026. Secondary descriptions and bibliography; community schedules are unvalidated reports, not recommendations.
Pep-Pedia reports: The source reports 11.1% weight loss at the highest arm versus 2.1% on placebo, but labels formulation doses as approved; trial and label dosing need separate verification.
Reported population / model
3,127 adults with obesity without diabetes
Reported study details
72-week study · FDA-approved doses: 5.5mg, 9mg, 17.2mg daily
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The source reports up to 9.6% weight loss with diabetes/obesity; its dose-conversion and approval labels must not replace a verified trial or product label.
Reported population / model
1,613 adults with obesity and type 2 diabetes
Reported study details
72-week study · FDA-approved doses: 5.5mg, 9mg, 17.2mg daily
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The trial reportedly lowered HbA1c by 1.3–1.6 points versus 0.4 with placebo, with up to 7.9% weight loss.
Reported population / model
559 adults with T2DM
Reported study details
40-week study · 3mg, 12mg, 36mg daily doses
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The source reports up to 14.7% mean weight loss at 36 weeks in an early obesity dose-ranging trial.
Reported population / model
272 adults with obesity
Reported study details
36-week study · Multiple dose escalations to 45mg
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The phase 2 comparison reportedly improved HbA1c and weight against placebo and dulaglutide; exact dose-specific effects are not supplied here.
Reported population / model
Adult T2DM patients
Reported study details
26-week study · Doses 3-45mg vs placebo and dulaglutide 1.5mg comparator
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The source reports a 29–49-hour half-life and 79.1% oral bioavailability; food effects and formulation-specific exposure require primary confirmation.
Reported population / model
92 healthy adults
Reported study details
Single and multiple ascending dose studies
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Lists a half-life of 1.2 days – 2.0 days and a peak time of 8 hrs. Stated attribution: Eli Lilly Phase 1 Studies. This value is reported by a secondary reference. The stated attribution has not been independently verified as a route- and formulation-matched human PK measurement. Five half-lives is not complete clearance, and the source’s “cleared” value is not used as a measured endpoint.
Secondary reference page checked; the underlying quantitative claim is not independently confirmed. · Checked 2026-10-12
Source page checked across available routes. Protocols, cycles, storage, mechanisms and pairing claims are secondary reports; checking the page does not independently validate those claims. Original concise summaries are used here.
Content coverage audit · Checked 2026-10-12
Approved with reduced-calorie diet and activity for adult obesity, or overweight with at least one weight-related comorbidity. This is not blanket approval of all source-listed uses.
Approved with reduced-calorie diet and activity for adult obesity, or overweight with at least one weight-related comorbidity. This is not blanket approval of all source-listed uses.
Additional primary-source check · Checked 2026-10-12
Interaction details omitted from the reference include strong CYP3A4 inhibitors/inducers and simvastatin. Strong CYP3A4 inhibitors cap Foundayo at 9 mg/day; avoid inhibitors also blocking OATP1B and strong CYP3A4 inducers. Simvastatin is limited to 20 mg/day. The label also specifies oral-contraceptive backup for 30 days after starting and each escalation. Clinician/pharmacist review is needed for specific medicines.
Interaction details omitted from the reference include strong CYP3A4 inhibitors/inducers and simvastatin. Strong CYP3A4 inhibitors cap Foundayo at 9 mg/day; avoid inhibitors also blocking OATP1B and strong CYP3A4 inducers. Simvastatin is limited to 20 mg/day. The label also specifies oral-contraceptive backup for 30 days after starting and each escalation. Clinician/pharmacist review is needed for specific medicines.
Additional primary-source check · Checked 2026-10-12