Acquired, generalized HSDD
Vyleesi is approved for premenopausal women meeting the label criteria.2
Bremelanotide / melanocortin receptor agonist
FDA-approved as Vyleesi 1.75 mg/0.3 mL autoinjector for acquired, generalized HSDD in premenopausal women; not approved for men, performance enhancement, or research-vial formulations.
An exact sequence has not been verified for this formulation.
Illustrative model using reported human data.
Five half-lives in this simplified model. This is not a prediction of when effects stop.
Mean terminal half-life after one approved-formulation dose; reported range 1.9–4.0 hours. Median Tmax is about 1 hour, which is a separate measure.
Population: Human clinical pharmacology studies in the label
100 × 2−time / half-life. Time zero is a reference level, not the moment of administration. Absorption, repeated dosing, metabolites and clinical effects are not modeled. Five half-lives leaves 3.125%, not zero. This curve cannot determine a dosing interval.
This value is reported by a secondary reference. The stated attribution has not been independently verified as a route- and formulation-matched human PK measurement.
Illustrative scenario using an unverified reference estimate.
Five half-lives in this estimated model. This is not a prediction of when effects stop.
Population: Not established by the reference estimate
Source’s stated attribution: Vyleesi prescribing information (2019)
Source’s reported peak time: 1 hr. This has not been independently confirmed and is not used in the elimination curve.
100 × 2−time / half-life. Time zero is a reference level, not the moment of administration. Absorption, repeated dosing, metabolites and clinical effects are not modeled. Five half-lives leaves 3.125%, not zero. This curve cannot determine a dosing interval.
Two phase 3 trials found placebo-adjusted changes of +0.35 on the desire measure and −0.33 on distress; satisfying sexual-event counts did not significantly differ.1
Injection 45–90 min, peak 2–4 h, waning 6–12 h; nasal 30–45 min, peak 2–3 h, waning 6–10 h; nasal efficacy unestablished.11
These are reported timelines, not a prediction of your response.
Scroll to compare all columns →
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Goal / evidence | Duration | References |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SubQSubcutaneous autoinjector | 1.75 mg / 0.3 mL | As needed, at least 45 minutes before sexual activity | HSDD symptom treatmentPremenopausal women with acquired, generalized HSDDProduct label | Stop after 8 weeks without improvement | 2 |
Population Premenopausal women with acquired, generalized HSDD Context Maximum one dose per 24 hours; more than eight monthly is not recommended. | |||||
| SubQSubQ (abdomen/thigh) | 1.75 mg | As needed, max 1 dose/24hr | Female HSDD (FDA-approved)Reference report | No cycling needed - use as required | 11 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Pep-Pedia reverses the BP direction; the label does not contain the claimed boxed warning. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQ | 1-2 mg | As needed, 45-60min before activity | Male Erectile DysfunctionReference report | No cycling needed - use as required | 11 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Pep-Pedia reverses the BP direction; the label does not contain the claimed boxed warning. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQ | 0.75-1.25 mg | As needed, max 1 dose/24hr | Female Arousal DisorderReference report | No cycling needed - use as required | 11 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Pep-Pedia reverses the BP direction; the label does not contain the claimed boxed warning. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQ | 0.5 mgStarting dose | Test dose to assess tolerance | Low Starting DoseReference report | No cycling needed - use as required | 11 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Pep-Pedia reverses the BP direction; the label does not contain the claimed boxed warning. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| IntranasalNasal spray | 1.5-2 mg | As needed, 30-45min before | Male ED - StandardReference report | No cycling needed - use as required | 11 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Pep-Pedia reverses the BP direction; the label does not contain the claimed boxed warning. Source tabs Nasal | |||||
| IntranasalNasal spray | 1-1.5 mg | As needed, max 1 dose/24hr | Female Sexual DysfunctionReference report | No cycling needed - use as required | 11 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Pep-Pedia reverses the BP direction; the label does not contain the claimed boxed warning. Source tabs Nasal | |||||
| IntranasalNasal spray | 0.5-1 mg | Test dose for tolerance | Initial Trial DoseReference report | No cycling needed - use as required | 11 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Pep-Pedia reverses the BP direction; the label does not contain the claimed boxed warning. Source tabs Nasal | |||||
| IntranasalNasal spray | 2-3 mg | Only if lower doses ineffective | Maximum ResponseReference report | No cycling needed - use as required | 11 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Pep-Pedia reverses the BP direction; the label does not contain the claimed boxed warning. Source tabs Nasal | |||||
No protocols match these filters.
Study and label doses retain their study context. Reference reports are unvalidated practices, not personal treatment instructions. Ranges remain ranges; escalation stages are labeled.
Reported use periods and breaks. These do not establish a safe cycle or prove that breaks prevent tolerance.
45-60 minutes before anticipated sexual activity
30-45 minutes before anticipated sexual activity
Transient pressure increases and heart-rate decreases occur. Vyleesi is contraindicated with uncontrolled hypertension or known cardiovascular disease.
2Nausea affected 40% of Vyleesi-treated trial patients.
2Focal hyperpigmentation can occur and may persist.
2The label advises effective contraception and discontinuation when pregnancy is suspected.
2Label: transient BP increase and heart-rate decrease. Contraindicated with uncontrolled hypertension or known cardiovascular disease.
Nausea, flushing, headache, skin darkening; nasal irritation/bleeding.
Chest pain, severe vomiting, vision/headache changes, allergy or erection over four hours.
Not a complete safety screen. Discuss health decisions with a qualified clinician.
Check cautions and reported pairings. A compatibility claim does not establish that a combination is safe.
BP effects require assessment.11
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Monitor CombinationMelanocortin overlap.11
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Use CautionBP response.11
Reference report · Evidence context: Monitor combinationAdverse effects.11
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Use CautionReference warning; not label-established contraindication.11
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Avoid CombinationUntested pairing.11
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Monitor CombinationVyleesi reduces naltrexone exposure; avoid combination when naltrexone treats alcohol or opioid addiction.2
Research contextSlower gastric emptying may alter oral-drug absorption, especially when prompt absorption is essential.2
Research contextUntested pairing.11
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleUnproven pairing.11
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticNo matching interactions. Try another name or filter.
Enter your peptide amount and container size. Get a volume and a simple measurement scale.
For dry powder, assuming negligible volume displacement. Use bacteriostatic water only if the formulation specifies it.
Amounts below are total blend mass. Ingredient amounts are listed separately.
| Pen units | Amount | Volume |
|---|
Enter an amount to calculate its volume and device setting.
The suggestion favors a simple 1, 2, or 5 × power-of-ten amount per unit, then the largest final volume that fits. It does not choose a dose or a biologically suitable concentration.
The water estimate applies only to dry powder and assumes negligible powder displacement. Final solution volume, specified diluent, solubility, stability, sterility, cartridge compatibility, and working fill limits must be established separately. No allowance is made for priming or transfer losses.
V2 measurement specification ↗Bacteriostatic water: formulation instructions ↗Vyleesi is a prefilled, single-dose autoinjector; research powder is a different product.2
No manufacturer-validated mixing recipe for research PT-141 powder is established by the Vyleesi label.2
Reported handling information, not a validated formulation or instruction to prepare an injectable product.
Pep-Pedia describes preparation for this route; product-specific stability has not been independently verified.
The source describes gentle mixing and avoiding vigorous shaking.
The nasal-specific section names saline and a calibrated spray volume.
Appearance and a purity certificate cannot establish sterility, identity, or suitability for injection.
Packaging examples, not a market survey. Approved and research products are not interchangeable.
Pep-Pedia reports these handling limits after mixing. They are not validated stability or sterility limits for your vial.
Refrigerate reconstituted solution (2-8°C), use within 30 days
Refrigerate nasal spray solution (2-8°C), use within 14 days
Storage depends on the formulation, diluent, container, and handling. Follow the specific product label or pharmacist’s instructions.
Device units measure volume. Concentration determines the amount in mg.
Documented 1-unit V2 models
Use the numbered dose window. Whole-unit settings only; confirm the specification for your exact model.
100 units = 1 mL
Read the printed unit scale. A small line may represent 0.5, 1, or 2 units depending on the syringe.
mL syringes and calibrated pipettes
Drops, sprays and other pen clicks need their own verified volume per increment. They have no universal conversion.
3 mL is cartridge capacity. It does not mean you must prepare or load 3 mL. The original vial and the pen cartridge are different containers. This reference compares measurement scales; it does not establish product or route compatibility.
Research-powder equivalence to the approved autoinjector.1
4 distinct primary sources or abstracts checked. Evidence may concern a parent compound, individual blend ingredient, animal, or cell model; it does not necessarily establish a benefit for this exact product.
Evidence definitions →Pep-Pedia reverses the BP direction; the label does not contain the claimed boxed warning.
Bremelanotide acts through melanocortin signaling. Randomized trials support modest improvements in sexual desire and related distress in premenopausal women with acquired, generalized HSDD; findings are not a blanket endorsement for performance enhancement.
Other names: bremelanotide · Vyleesi · PT141
FDA-approved as Vyleesi 1.75 mg/0.3 mL autoinjector for acquired, generalized HSDD in premenopausal women; not approved for men, performance enhancement, or research-vial formulations.
Bremelanotide (PT-141), a cyclic melanocortin-receptor agonist.32
Central melanocortin receptor activation affects sexual-desire pathways.11
Two 24-week trials randomized 1,267 women. The pooled treatment differences were +0.35 on the desire-domain score and −0.33 on distress related to low desire versus placebo. These are scale-point differences, not percentages.
1The trials did not find a significant between-group difference in satisfying sexual events associated with study medication. Nausea, flushing, and headache were more frequent with bremelanotide.
1Approved for acquired generalized HSDD in premenopausal women. Raises BP transiently, lowers heart rate, and is contraindicated in uncontrolled hypertension/known cardiovascular disease; not indicated for sexual performance enhancement.
Approved product label12Acquired, generalized HSDD. Vyleesi is approved for premenopausal women meeting the label criteria.2
Approved use. Acquired generalized HSDD in premenopausal women.11
Other goals. ED, arousal, sexual satisfaction, distress and performance anxiety; no approved performance-enhancement indication.11
PepPedia also discusses male erectile-function use. That use is outside Vyleesi's approved indication.4
PepPedia's editorial protocol summary, not measured community consensus. Benefits, product identity, and safety are not independently verified; these reported practices are not recommendations. The approved product arrives ready to use and is not reconstituted.
No additional newer efficacy paper was verified in this targeted check. Preserved the checked pivotal studies and formulation-specific Vyleesi label.
AI-prepared summaries. Independent medical editorial review is pending.
Voluntary, unverified reports. These percentages do not measure effectiveness or safety.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 4 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 1 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 52 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 13 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 27 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 4 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 3 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 2 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source displays “1181 responses” for this profile. This is not a confirmed participant count or a denominator for individual questions.
Original sources and review status. Open a reference to read its summary.
The RECONNECT studies found statistically significant but modest improvements in desire and distress scores; satisfying-event counts did not significantly differ.
Two 24-week trials randomized 1,267 women. The pooled treatment differences were +0.35 on the desire-domain score and −0.33 on distress related to low desire versus placebo. These are scale-point differences, not percentages.
The trials did not find a significant between-group difference in satisfying sexual events associated with study medication. Nausea, flushing, and headache were more frequent with bremelanotide.
Product-specific indication, limits, and blood-pressure, nausea, pigmentation, and drug-interaction warnings.
Parent-peptide formula C50H68N14O10 and molecular weight 1025.2 g/mol; separate from acetate counterions.
Secondary editorial account of discussed practices; not a clinical trial or representative survey.
Lists 10 mg lyophilized material per vial. Quantity examples only; vendor quality and suitability are not endorsed.
Pep-Pedia reports: Premenopausal HSDD trials found improved desire and reduced distress; the source's percentage metric needs definition before interpreting its magnitude.
Reported population / model
Human
Reported study details
1.75mg subcutaneous · As needed · 24.5% improvement vs 17.2% placebo
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified. No study link supplied
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Intranasal bremelanotide studies reportedly produced erectile responses in men; that route and use differ from an approved subcutaneous product.
Reported population / model
Human
Reported study details
1-20mg intranasal · Single dose · Dose-dependent erectile response
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified. No study link supplied
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Laboratory work implicates central melanocortin signaling in arousal; receptor selectivity and clinical effects require formulation-specific evidence.
Reported population / model
In vitro + Animal
Reported study details
Various doses · Receptor binding assays
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified. No study link supplied
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The source claims better genital-flow and arousal measures in women; menopausal status and trial attribution require verification.
Reported population / model
Human
Reported study details
0.75-1.25mg subcutaneous · Single dose · Improved arousal metrics
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified. No study link supplied
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Lists a half-life of 2.7 hrs and a peak time of 1 hr. Stated attribution: Vyleesi prescribing information (2019). This value is reported by a secondary reference. The stated attribution has not been independently verified as a route- and formulation-matched human PK measurement. Five half-lives is not complete clearance, and the source’s “cleared” value is not used as a measured endpoint.
Secondary reference page checked; the underlying quantitative claim is not independently confirmed. · Checked 2026-10-12
Source page checked across available routes. Protocols, cycles, storage, mechanisms and pairing claims are secondary reports; checking the page does not independently validate those claims. Original concise summaries are used here.
Content coverage audit · Checked 2026-10-12
Approved for acquired generalized HSDD in premenopausal women. Raises BP transiently, lowers heart rate, and is contraindicated in uncontrolled hypertension/known cardiovascular disease; not indicated for sexual performance enhancement.
Approved for acquired generalized HSDD in premenopausal women. Raises BP transiently, lowers heart rate, and is contraindicated in uncontrolled hypertension/known cardiovascular disease; not indicated for sexual performance enhancement.
Additional primary-source check · Checked 2026-10-12