Barth syndrome muscle strength
Forzinity's accelerated approval is disease-specific; confirmation of clinical benefit is required.1
Mitochondrial cardiolipin-binding peptide
Forzinity: FDA accelerated approval in 2025 for muscle strength in adults and children with Barth syndrome weighing at least 30 kg.
4 residues · N → C11
dR–Dmt–K–FdR = D-arginine; Dmt = 2,6-dimethyltyrosine. C-terminal amide. The approved label gives D-Arg–2,6-dimethyl-Tyr–Lys–Phe–NH2.
This is the Forzinity salt. Labeled dose is expressed as elamipretide equivalent.
Illustrative model using reported human data.
Five half-lives in this simplified model. This is not a prediction of when effects stop.
FDA integrated review Table 7 reports mean steady-state half-life 2.8 hours (SD 0.3) after 40 mg daily for seven days. This study estimate is not a measured curve for a retail SS-31 powder. The approved label itself gives no numerical half-life.
Population: Healthy volunteers; five participants in the cited 40-mg cohort
100 × 2−time / half-life. Time zero is a reference level, not the moment of administration. Absorption, repeated dosing, metabolites and clinical effects are not modeled. Five half-lives leaves 3.125%, not zero. This curve cannot determine a dosing interval.
The checked subcutaneous study mean is 2.8 hours. The source’s 4-hour value is retained as a separate reference claim.
Illustrative scenario using an unverified reference estimate.
Five half-lives in this estimated model. This is not a prediction of when effects stop.
Population: Not established by the reference estimate
Source’s stated attribution: Stealth BioTherapeutics trials
Source’s reported peak time: 30 min. This has not been independently confirmed and is not used in the elimination curve.
100 × 2−time / half-life. Time zero is a reference level, not the moment of administration. Absorption, repeated dosing, metabolites and clinical effects are not modeled. Five half-lives leaves 3.125%, not zero. This curve cannot determine a dosing interval.
The trial did not show superiority on walking distance or fatigue. Muscle-strength gains emerged during the uncontrolled extension.1
Energy days 1–3; endurance weeks 1–2; stamina/sleep weeks 2–4; exercise/biomarkers weeks 4–12. Not validated healthy-user forecasts.13
These are reported timelines, not a prediction of your response.
Scroll to compare all columns →
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Goal / evidence | Duration | References |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SubQSubcutaneous | 40 mg | Once daily | Barth syndrome function12 participants aged ≥12 years and weighing >30 kgHuman study | 12 weeks per randomized treatment period | 1 |
Population 12 participants aged ≥12 years and weighing >30 kg Context Crossover trial, followed by an open-label extension. | |||||
| SubQSubcutaneous | 40 mg | Daily | ReCLAIM-2 geographic-atrophy trial176 adults aged at least 55 with dry AMD and noncentral geographic atrophyHuman study | 48 weeks; 4-week follow-up | 4 |
Population 176 adults aged at least 55 with dry AMD and noncentral geographic atrophy Context Studied under protocol supervision; this is not a self-administration recommendation. | |||||
| SubQ | 5-10 mg | Once daily | General Mitochondrial SupportReference report | 4-12 weeks continuous use | 13 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Topical and general-wellness claims are separate from approved injectable use; source stack labels do not prove safety. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQ | 10-20 mg | Once daily pre-workout | Athletic PerformanceReference report | 4-12 weeks continuous use | 13 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Topical and general-wellness claims are separate from approved injectable use; source stack labels do not prove safety. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQSubcutaneous | 40 mg | Once daily | Clinical ProtocolsReference report | 4-12 weeks continuous use | 13 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Topical and general-wellness claims are separate from approved injectable use; source stack labels do not prove safety. Source route wording SubQ or IV Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| IVIntravenous | 40 mg | Once daily | Clinical ProtocolsReference report | 4-12 weeks continuous use | 13 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Topical and general-wellness claims are separate from approved injectable use; source stack labels do not prove safety. Source route wording SubQ or IV Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| IV | 0.25 mg/kg/hr | Continuous infusion | Acute CardioprotectionReference report | 4-12 weeks continuous use | 13 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Topical and general-wellness claims are separate from approved injectable use; source stack labels do not prove safety. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| Topical | 0.5% cream | Twice daily | Anti-aging skincareReference report | Continuous use | 13 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Topical and general-wellness claims are separate from approved injectable use; source stack labels do not prove safety. Source tabs Topical | |||||
| TopicalTopical to affected area | 1% gel | 2-3x daily | Wound healing supportReference report | Continuous use | 13 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Topical and general-wellness claims are separate from approved injectable use; source stack labels do not prove safety. Source tabs Topical | |||||
No protocols match these filters.
Study and label doses retain their study context. Reference reports are unvalidated practices, not personal treatment instructions. Ranges remain ranges; escalation stages are labeled.
Reported use periods and breaks. These do not establish a safe cycle or prove that breaks prevent tolerance.
Morning for general use, pre-workout for performance, or as directed for clinical protocols
Morning and evening after cleansing
The approved product commonly causes local reactions.
2Serious hypersensitivity has occurred.
2Severe renal impairment requires product-specific dose adjustment; dialysis was not studied.
2Adverse events occurred in 86% with elamipretide versus 71% with placebo; injection-site reactions were most common.
4Injection reactions are common; serious reactions reported. General long-term “safe” claims exceed evidence.
Severe local reactions, allergy, unusual weakness/fatigue, cardiovascular symptoms or headache/vision changes.
Not a complete safety screen. Discuss health decisions with a qualified clinician.
Check cautions and reported pairings. A compatibility claim does not establish that a combination is safe.
Unproven mitochondrial stack.13
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticUntested pairing.13
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticUntested pairing.13
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticUntested pairing.13
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleUntested pairing.13
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleUntested pairing.13
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleSpecific IV studies found no meaningful effect on the tested drug exposure or antithrombotic measures. This does not establish all combinations as safe.2
Research contextNo matching interactions. Try another name or filter.
Enter your peptide amount and container size. Get a volume and a simple measurement scale.
For dry powder, assuming negligible volume displacement. Use bacteriostatic water only if the formulation specifies it.
Amounts below are total blend mass. Ingredient amounts are listed separately.
| Pen units | Amount | Volume |
|---|
Enter an amount to calculate its volume and device setting.
The suggestion favors a simple 1, 2, or 5 × power-of-ten amount per unit, then the largest final volume that fits. It does not choose a dose or a biologically suitable concentration.
The water estimate applies only to dry powder and assumes negligible powder displacement. Final solution volume, specified diluent, solubility, stability, sterility, cartridge compatibility, and working fill limits must be established separately. No allowance is made for priming or transfer losses.
V2 measurement specification ↗Bacteriostatic water: formulation instructions ↗Forzinity is supplied as an 80 mg/mL aqueous solution.2
No diluent is added. This formulation does not validate preparation of research SS-31 powders.2
Reported handling information, not a validated formulation or instruction to prepare an injectable product.
The source gives a research-powder example, distinct from approved product handling.
The source’s IV-filtration suggestion does not validate sterility or a home IV formulation.
The topical tab repeats injectable preparation text.
It does not establish a topical formulation, concentration or shelf life.
Appearance and a purity certificate cannot establish sterility, identity, or suitability for injection.
Packaging examples, not a market survey. Approved and research products are not interchangeable.
Pep-Pedia reports these handling limits after mixing. They are not validated stability or sterility limits for your vial.
Product-specific storage; no reconstitution.
Already a solution; no reconstitution. Do not freeze. Its 8-day limit does not validate the reported 30-day period for research powder.
Refrigerate after reconstitution, protect from light, use within 30 days
Room temperature, away from heat and light
Storage depends on the formulation, diluent, container, and handling. Follow the specific product label or pharmacist’s instructions.
Device units measure volume. Concentration determines the amount in mg.
Documented 1-unit V2 models
Use the numbered dose window. Whole-unit settings only; confirm the specification for your exact model.
100 units = 1 mL
Read the printed unit scale. A small line may represent 0.5, 1, or 2 units depending on the syringe.
mL syringes and calibrated pipettes
Drops, sprays and other pen clicks need their own verified volume per increment. They have no universal conversion.
3 mL is cartridge capacity. It does not mean you must prepare or load 3 mL. The original vial and the pen cartridge are different containers. This reference compares measurement scales; it does not establish product or route compatibility.
Broad longevity, cognitive and athletic claims are not established by the Barth-syndrome indication.1
3 distinct primary sources or abstracts checked. Evidence may concern a parent compound, individual blend ingredient, animal, or cell model; it does not necessarily establish a benefit for this exact product.
Evidence definitions →Topical and general-wellness claims are separate from approved injectable use; source stack labels do not prove safety.
Elamipretide binds mitochondrial cardiolipin. Forzinity gained accelerated FDA approval for improving muscle strength in Barth syndrome; this is not approval for general anti-aging or athletic performance.
Other names: Elamipretide · Forzinity · MTP-131 · Bendavia · SS-31 (Elamipretide)
Forzinity: FDA accelerated approval in 2025 for muscle strength in adults and children with Barth syndrome weighing at least 30 kg.
Elamipretide; mitochondrial cardiolipin-binding tetrapeptide.2
Binds mitochondrial cardiolipin, influencing membrane organization and respiratory function.13
In 12 patients, elamipretide was not superior to placebo for walking distance or fatigue during the initial 12-week randomized crossover trial.
1Knee-extensor strength improved during the open-label extension, not the randomized phase. Confirmatory evidence is required under accelerated approval.
1ReCLAIM-2 did not show statistically significant improvement in its two primary endpoints: low-luminance visual acuity and square-root geographic-atrophy area. Secondary imaging signals do not establish clinical efficacy.
4Accelerated approval September 19, 2025 to improve muscle strength in Barth syndrome at body weight ≥30 kg; core trial enrolled 12 patients. Approval does not establish anti-aging or healthy-user endurance benefits.
FDA approval/trial summary14Barth syndrome muscle strength. Forzinity's accelerated approval is disease-specific; confirmation of clinical benefit is required.1
Approved use. Muscle strength in Barth syndrome, patients at least 30 kg.13
Research. Mitochondrial disease, cardiac function and exercise tolerance.13
Community / preclinical. Energy, muscle, cognition, aging, skin/photoaging and wound-repair claims.13
Pep-Pedia describes community interest in energy and exercise endurance. Those claims extend beyond the approved disease population.5
A secondary protocol description, not a clinical recommendation or a representative survey. Dose, product identity, other compounds and outcome reporting are not independently verified.
The targeted check identified relevant additional literature or current regulatory information; checked findings are separated from retained bibliography-only references.
AI-prepared summaries. Independent medical editorial review is pending.
Voluntary, unverified reports. These percentages do not measure effectiveness or safety.
The source hides 2 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 10 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 1 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 24 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 26 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 18 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 7 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 8 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 3 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source displays “2893 responses” for this profile. This is not a confirmed participant count or a denominator for individual questions.
Original sources and review status. Open a reference to read its summary.
The randomized phase did not beat placebo on walking distance or fatigue. Accelerated approval relied on muscle-strength improvement in the extension.
In 12 patients, elamipretide was not superior to placebo for walking distance or fatigue during the initial 12-week randomized crossover trial.
Knee-extensor strength improved during the open-label extension, not the randomized phase. Confirmatory evidence is required under accelerated approval.
The approved product is a daily subcutaneous treatment for a defined Barth-syndrome population; it has hypersensitivity and injection-site warnings.
Table 7 reports a 2.8-hour mean steady-state half-life in five healthy volunteers after seven daily 40-mg subcutaneous doses (SPISC-102). The review also gives a broader approximate 3–4-hour elimination summary.
Online October 2024, 2025 issue. In 176 participants, 40 mg daily for 48 weeks missed both primary visual-acuity and atrophy-area endpoints; favorable secondary imaging findings were nominal.
ReCLAIM-2 did not show statistically significant improvement in its two primary endpoints: low-luminance visual acuity and square-root geographic-atrophy area. Secondary imaging signals do not establish clinical efficacy.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
Accessed October 12, 2026. Reports commonly discussed protocols; these schedules are unvalidated descriptions, not evidence of safety or efficacy.
Catalog lists 10 mg and 50 mg research presentations. These are seller label examples, not verified contents, market-frequency estimates or supplier endorsements.
Accelerated approval September 19, 2025 to improve muscle strength in Barth syndrome at body weight ≥30 kg; core trial enrolled 12 patients. Approval does not establish anti-aging or healthy-user endurance benefits.
Pep-Pedia bibliography; reconciled with an existing checked primary-source record · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The card claims improved walking/fatigue in mitochondrial myopathy; its population, duration and endpoints need checking against the named trial.
Reported population / model
Human
Reported study details
40mg daily · 12 weeks · 36 patients
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Cardiac-injury benefits around surgery are claimed without a primary-study link; exact population and endpoint attribution remain unresolved.
Reported population / model
Human
Reported study details
0.25mg/kg/hr infusion · During cardiac surgery
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Aged-mouse muscle experiments reportedly improved function, ATP and oxidative-stress measures; healthy-user clinical benefit is unestablished.
Reported population / model
Animal model
Reported study details
Various doses · 8 weeks · Aged mice
Pep-Pedia supplies no original study link for this card. Study identity, design, doses and result remain unverified.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Sequence and modifications checked October 12, 2026. dR = D-arginine; Dmt = 2,6-dimethyltyrosine. C-terminal amide. The approved label gives D-Arg–2,6-dimethyl-Tyr–Lys–Phe–NH2.
Lists a half-life of 4 hrs and a peak time of 30 min. Stated attribution: Stealth BioTherapeutics trials. The checked subcutaneous study mean is 2.8 hours. The source’s 4-hour value is retained as a separate reference claim. Five half-lives is not complete clearance, and the source’s “cleared” value is not used as a measured endpoint.
Secondary reference page checked; the underlying quantitative claim is not independently confirmed. · Checked 2026-10-12
Source page checked across available routes. Protocols, cycles, storage, mechanisms and pairing claims are secondary reports; checking the page does not independently validate those claims. Original concise summaries are used here.
Content coverage audit · Checked 2026-10-12
Accelerated approval September 19, 2025 to improve muscle strength in Barth syndrome at body weight ≥30 kg; core trial enrolled 12 patients. Approval does not establish anti-aging or healthy-user endurance benefits.
Accelerated approval September 19, 2025 to improve muscle strength in Barth syndrome at body weight ≥30 kg; core trial enrolled 12 patients. Approval does not establish anti-aging or healthy-user endurance benefits.
Additional primary-source check · Checked 2026-10-12