Exercise & metabolism
Administered MOTS-c improved exercise outcomes in mice; human work measured endogenous levels.12
Community expectations are not established human treatment outcomes.8
Mitochondrially encoded peptide
No FDA-approved therapeutic product identified.
People seek MOTS-c for exercise capacity, metabolic health, and energy. Administered MOTS-c improved exercise outcomes in mice, while cited human research measured the body’s own MOTS-c. These findings do not establish that injecting it produces the same benefits in people.128
Administered MOTS-c improved exercise outcomes in mice; human work measured endogenous levels.12
Community expectations are not established human treatment outcomes.8
16 residues · N → C20
MRWQEMGYIFYPRKLR (Met-Arg-Trp-Gln-Glu-Met-Gly-Tyr-Ile-Phe-Tyr-Pro-Arg-Lys-Leu-Arg)Identity reported by Pep-Pedia; exact-product sequence and modifications have not been independently confirmed.
Record refers to the defined peptide, not a salt, blend or proof of retail-product identity.
Pharmacokinetics · How quickly the compound clears.
Time for the level to fall by half.
After five half-lives in this model.
Unverified reference estimate · Source page: Injectable. Exact PK route not verified.19
This value is reported by a secondary reference. The stated attribution has not been independently verified as a route- and formulation-matched human PK measurement.
Illustrative scenario using an unverified reference estimate.
No. Effects can end sooner or last longer than the measured level. This curve estimates decline from a starting reference level; it does not set a dosing schedule.
Not established by the reference estimate. The reference attributes this to Lee et al. 2015; that attribution is unverified.
The source reports a peak time of 1 hr; this is unverified and is not part of the curve.
The model uses a constant half-life. It starts from a reference level, not the moment of administration, and excludes absorption, repeated doses, and metabolites. About 3% remains after five half-lives.
The human arm measured naturally occurring MOTS-c after exercise; participants were not treated with MOTS-c.1
Source metabolic/exercise timeline is not a validated human response schedule.20
These are reported timelines, not a prediction of your response.
These are reported practices from secondary sources, not validated dosing recommendations.
Scroll to compare all columns →
| Goal | Dose | Frequency | Route | Duration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Metabolic health | 5-10 mg | Once daily | SubQ | 4-12 weeks continuous or 3x weekly intermittent | 20 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and mouse tolerability do not establish safety; WADA status differs from medical approval. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| Anti-aging protocol | 15 mg | 3x weekly | SubQ | 4-12 weeks continuous or 3x weekly intermittent | 20 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and mouse tolerability do not establish safety; WADA status differs from medical approval. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| Exercise performance | 10-15 mg | Pre-workout | SubQ | 4-12 weeks continuous or 3x weekly intermittent | 20 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and mouse tolerability do not establish safety; WADA status differs from medical approval. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| Conservative start | 5 mgStarting dose | Once daily | SubQ | 4-12 weeks continuous or 3x weekly intermittent | 20 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and mouse tolerability do not establish safety; WADA status differs from medical approval. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| Low-dose stack protocol | 1 mg | 3x weekly | SubQSubQ (abdomen) | 4-12 weeks continuous or 3x weekly intermittent | 20 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and mouse tolerability do not establish safety; WADA status differs from medical approval. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
No protocols match these filters.
Reported use periods and breaks. These do not establish a safe cycle or prove that breaks prevent tolerance.
Morning before exercise or with first meal
FDA reports no identified human exposure data sufficient to inform safety.
3FDA flags immunogenicity and peptide-impurity concerns.
3The cited exercise work does not establish long-term safety of administration to humans.
1Human safety, pregnancy/lactation and chronic exposure remain poorly characterized.
Allergy, recurrent low glucose, severe local reactions or unexplained major weight loss.
Not a complete safety screen. Discuss health decisions with a qualified clinician.
Check cautions and reported pairings. A compatibility claim does not establish that a combination is safe.
Possible additive glucose effects; clinical interaction untested.20
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Use CautionPossible additive glucose effects.20
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Monitor CombinationPotential glucose lowering.20
Reference report · Evidence context: Use cautionTheoretical mitochondrial complement.20
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticSafety claim unproven.20
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleMechanistic AMPK/SIRT hypothesis.20
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticFDA reports insufficient human exposure/safety information. No validated combination safety is established here.3
Research contextNo matching interactions. Try another name or filter.
Enter your peptide amount and container size. Get a volume and a simple measurement scale.
For dry powder, assuming negligible volume displacement. Use bacteriostatic water only if the formulation specifies it.
Amounts below are total blend mass. Ingredient amounts are listed separately.
| Pen units | Amount | Volume |
|---|
Enter an amount to calculate its volume and device setting.
The suggestion favors a simple 1, 2, or 5 × power-of-ten amount per unit, then the largest final volume that fits. It does not choose a dose or a biologically suitable concentration.
The water estimate applies only to dry powder and assumes negligible powder displacement. Final solution volume, specified diluent, solubility, stability, sterility, cartridge compatibility, and working fill limits must be established separately. No allowance is made for priming or transfer losses.
V2 measurement specification ↗Bacteriostatic water: formulation instructions ↗No validated human product-specific reconstitution instructions are available in the cited sources.13
Mouse protocols cannot establish a human injectable preparation, storage period or diluent volume.1
Reported handling information, not a validated formulation or instruction to prepare an injectable product.
Pep-Pedia describes preparation for this route; product-specific stability has not been independently verified.
The source describes gentle mixing and avoiding vigorous shaking.
Appearance and a purity certificate cannot establish sterility, identity, or suitability for injection.
Packaging examples, not a market survey. Approved and research products are not interchangeable.
Pep-Pedia reports these handling limits after mixing. They are not validated stability or sterility limits for your vial.
Lyophilized: room temp 3 weeks or freezer. Reconstituted: 2-8°C for 14 days
Storage depends on the formulation, diluent, container, and handling. Follow the specific product label or pharmacist’s instructions.
Device units measure volume. Concentration determines the amount in mg.
Documented 1-unit V2 models
Use the numbered dose window. Whole-unit settings only; confirm the specification for your exact model.
100 units = 1 mL
Read the printed unit scale. A small line may represent 0.5, 1, or 2 units depending on the syringe.
mL syringes and calibrated pipettes
Drops, sprays and other pen clicks need their own verified volume per increment. They have no universal conversion.
3 mL is cartridge capacity. It does not mean you must prepare or load 3 mL. The original vial and the pen cartridge are different containers. This reference compares measurement scales; it does not establish product or route compatibility.
Human efficacy, dosing and long-term safety remain unestablished in the evidence reviewed.1
Early research. The relevant evidence is mainly from cells or animals. Human biomarker associations do not show what happens when people take the compound.
Evidence definitions →Source compatibility labels and mouse tolerability do not establish safety; WADA status differs from medical approval.
A mitochondrially encoded peptide investigated in metabolism and exercise. Strongly promoted benefits are mostly based on animal experiments and measurements of naturally occurring MOTS-c in humans.
Other names: MOTS · Mitochondrial open reading frame of the 12S rRNA-c
No FDA-approved therapeutic product identified.
Mitochondrial-derived peptide MOTS-c.4
16 amino acids · 2,174.6 Da
MRWQEMGYIFYPRKLR (Met-Arg-Trp-Gln-Glu-Met-Gly-Tyr-Ile-Phe-Tyr-Pro-Arg-Lys-Leu-Arg)Reference description; checked chemical identity takes precedence when available.20
Folate/AICAR/AMPK and stress-responsive nuclear signaling; animal pathway effects do not establish human treatment benefit.20
A 2021 study found exercise-related changes in endogenous MOTS-c in 10 men and improved physical performance after MOTS-c treatment in mice. The humans were not given MOTS-c.
1A single-dose experiment reported a 12% increase in running time and 15% in distance in untrained mice. No human dose or performance benefit follows from that result.
2An isolated rat-heart model reported less ischemia-reperfusion injury with MOTS-c. An ex-vivo perfusion system omits whole-body influences and cannot establish human treatment benefit.
7Exercise and metabolism research. Administered MOTS-c improved exercise outcomes in mice; human work measured endogenous levels.12
Insulin resistance, glucose and obesity. Primarily animal metabolic findings; source's general clinical-trial claim is unverified here.20
Aging and mitochondria. Animal performance/lifespan and cellular-energy findings.20
Exercise and muscle recovery. Mouse endurance, muscle-homeostasis and human association research.20
Pep-Pedia describes metabolic and exercise benefits, but these community claims run ahead of controlled human treatment evidence.8
A secondary protocol description, not a clinical recommendation or a representative survey. Dose, product identity, other compounds and outcome reporting are not independently verified.
The targeted check identified relevant additional literature or current regulatory information; checked findings are separated from retained bibliography-only references.
AI-prepared summaries. Independent medical editorial review is pending.
Voluntary, unverified reports. These percentages do not measure effectiveness or safety.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 10 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 2 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 23 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 25 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 28 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 12 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 13 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 4 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source displays “4789 responses” for this profile. This is not a confirmed participant count or a denominator for individual questions.
Original sources and review status. Open a reference to read its summary.
Mouse treatment experiments showed physical-performance effects; the small human component measured endogenous peptide after exercise.
A 2021 study found exercise-related changes in endogenous MOTS-c in 10 men and improved physical performance after MOTS-c treatment in mice. The humans were not given MOTS-c.
In mice, a single dose improved acute treadmill performance. This was not a trial of a human treatment.
A single-dose experiment reported a 12% increase in running time and 15% in distance in untrained mice. No human dose or performance benefit follows from that result.
FDA identifies missing human exposure and safety information.
Records the 16-residue peptide MRWQEMGYIFYPRKLR, molecular formula and molecular weight.
In mice, a single dose improved acute treadmill performance. This was not a trial of a human treatment.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Mouse treatment experiments showed physical-performance effects; the small human component measured endogenous peptide after exercise.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
2026 ex-vivo rat-heart experiment found reduced injury under laboratory perfusion; systemic human efficacy and PK cannot be inferred.
An isolated rat-heart model reported less ischemia-reperfusion injury with MOTS-c. An ex-vivo perfusion system omits whole-body influences and cannot establish human treatment benefit.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
Accessed October 12, 2026. Reports commonly discussed protocols; these schedules are unvalidated descriptions, not evidence of safety or efficacy.
Catalog lists research vials including 10, 20 and 40 mg. These are seller label examples, not verified contents, market-frequency estimates or supplier endorsements.
Pep-Pedia reports: Pregnant-mouse experiments improved glucose and offspring-weight measures; lower human circulating levels were observational and do not establish pregnancy treatment safety.
Reported population / model
Mice
Reported study details
Daily administration during pregnancy · Throughout pregnancy · Alleviated hyperglycemia, improved maternal-fetal outcomes
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: MOTS-c moved into cell nuclei under metabolic stress and interacted with stress-response transcription factors.
Reported population / model
Cell culture & Mice
Reported study details
1-10 μM in vitro · 30 min-24 hours · Nuclear translocation under stress
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: In 40 patients, lower circulating MOTS-c correlated with poorer coronary endothelial function; no supplementation intervention was tested.
Reported population / model
Human patients (n=40)
Reported study details
Observational study · - · Lower MOTS-c levels correlate with endothelial dysfunction
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: High-fat-fed and aged mice showed better insulin responses and less obesity with MOTS-c; these findings do not define a human regimen.
Reported population / model
Mice
Reported study details
0.5-5 mg/kg/day i.p. · 3-8 weeks · Prevented obesity, improved insulin sensitivity by ~30%
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Lists a half-life of 4 hrs and a peak time of 1 hr. Stated attribution: Lee et al. 2015. This value is reported by a secondary reference. The stated attribution has not been independently verified as a route- and formulation-matched human PK measurement. Five half-lives is not complete clearance, and the source’s “cleared” value is not used as a measured endpoint.
Secondary reference page checked; the underlying quantitative claim is not independently confirmed. · Checked 2026-10-12
Source page checked across available routes. Protocols, cycles, storage, mechanisms and pairing claims are secondary reports; checking the page does not independently validate those claims. Original concise summaries are used here.
Content coverage audit · Checked 2026-10-12