Carnitine deficiency
CARNITOR injection is labeled for specified metabolic disorders and prevention/treatment of deficiency in dialysis patients. This does not establish a performance benefit.21
Levocarnitine, an endogenous carnitine compound
Levocarnitine has prescription deficiency indications; research-market athletic injections are not the same formulation.
Not applicable: this compound is not a single peptide.
Hydrochloride and tartrate salts have different composition and mass.
Illustrative model using reported human data.
Five half-lives in this simplified model. This is not a prediction of when effects stop.
The label uses a two-compartment model. This illustration models only terminal decline; it is not the full two-compartment curve. It does not establish subcutaneous or intramuscular kinetics.
Population: Human label PK; concentrations uncorrected for endogenous levocarnitine
100 × 2−time / half-life. Time zero is a reference level, not the moment of administration. Absorption, repeated dosing, metabolites and clinical effects are not modeled. Five half-lives leaves 3.125%, not zero. This curve cannot determine a dosing interval.
This value is reported by a secondary reference. The stated attribution has not been independently verified as a route- and formulation-matched human PK measurement.
Illustrative scenario using an unverified reference estimate.
Five half-lives in this estimated model. This is not a prediction of when effects stop.
Population: Not established by the reference estimate
Source’s stated attribution: FDA Carnitor Label
Source’s reported peak time: 3.5 hrs. This has not been independently confirmed and is not used in the elimination curve.
100 × 2−time / half-life. Time zero is a reference level, not the moment of administration. Absorption, repeated dosing, metabolites and clinical effects are not modeled. Five half-lives leaves 3.125%, not zero. This curve cannot determine a dosing interval.
The 2025 placebo-controlled crossover study did not find improved CrossFit performance after acute L-carnitine supplementation. It does not evaluate injectable use.1
A dialysis trial compared 500 mg orally three times daily with 20 mg/kg IV after dialysis for 24 weeks. Its anemia findings cannot establish fat-loss or performance benefit.2
Scroll to compare all columns →
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Goal / evidence | Duration | References |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oral | 500 mg | Three times daily | Renal anemia route comparisonMaintenance-hemodialysis patientsHuman study | 24 weeks | 2 |
Population Maintenance-hemodialysis patients Context Studied under protocol supervision; this is not a self-administration recommendation. Source dose wording 500 mg oral or 20 mg/kg IV study arms Source route wording Oral / intravenous | |||||
| IVIntravenous | 20 mg/kg | After dialysis | Renal anemia route comparisonMaintenance-hemodialysis patientsHuman study | 24 weeks | 2 |
Population Maintenance-hemodialysis patients Context Studied under protocol supervision; this is not a self-administration recommendation. Source dose wording 500 mg oral or 20 mg/kg IV study arms Source route wording Oral / intravenous | |||||
| IV | 50 mg/kg/day | Divided doses or continuous | Carnitine deficiencyReference report | Ongoing for deficiency; 8-12 weeks for performance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| IVIV - Slow push | 10-20 mg/kg | Post-dialysis | Hemodialysis supportReference report | Ongoing for deficiency; 8-12 weeks for performance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQSubcutaneous | 500-1500 mg | 1-3x weekly | Fat metabolism / PerformanceReference report | Ongoing for deficiency; 8-12 weeks for performance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source route wording SubQ or IM Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| IMIntramuscular | 500-1500 mg | 1-3x weekly | Fat metabolism / PerformanceReference report | Ongoing for deficiency; 8-12 weeks for performance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source route wording SubQ or IM Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| IVIV - Infusion | Up to 300 mg/kg/day | Divided or continuous | Critical illnessReference report | Ongoing for deficiency; 8-12 weeks for performance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| Oral | 500-1000 mg | 1-2x daily | General wellness / EnergyReference report | 12-24 weeks typical; ongoing for maintenance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| OralOral - Empty stomach | 2000 mg | 1-2x daily | Weight managementReference report | 12-24 weeks typical; ongoing for maintenance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| OralOral - Before exercise | 2000-3000 mg | 1x daily | Exercise performance/recovery (LCLT)Reference report | 12-24 weeks typical; ongoing for maintenance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| Oral | 500-2000 mg | 1-2x daily | Cognitive support (ALCAR)Reference report | 12-24 weeks typical; ongoing for maintenance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| Oral | 2000 mg | 1x daily | Male fertilityReference report | 12-24 weeks typical; ongoing for maintenance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source tabs Oral | |||||
| OralOral - With meals | 1000-2000 mg | 1-2x daily | Cardiovascular supportReference report | 12-24 weeks typical; ongoing for maintenance | 22 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes. Source tabs Oral | |||||
No protocols match these filters.
Study and label doses retain their study context. Reference reports are unvalidated practices, not personal treatment instructions. Ranges remain ranges; escalation stages are labeled.
Reported use periods and breaks. These do not establish a safe cycle or prove that breaks prevent tolerance.
Any time; before exercise for performance goals
Empty stomach or 30-60 min before exercise
Seizures have been reported with oral and IV levocarnitine, including increased frequency or severity in people with prior seizures.
3Anaphylaxis, airway swelling and bronchospasm have been reported, mostly in dialysis patients.
3GI upset, odor, injection discomfort; thyroid antagonism and renal TMA/TMAO concerns.
Allergy, persistent GI symptoms, weakness/seizure, worsening thyroid or cardiovascular symptoms.
Not a complete safety screen. Discuss health decisions with a qualified clinician.
Check cautions and reported pairings. A compatibility claim does not establish that a combination is safe.
May antagonize hormone action.22
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Use CautionPotential INR increase.22
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Monitor CombinationPotential anticoagulant potentiation.22
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Monitor CombinationTheoretical energy complement.22
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticContext-specific mitochondrial research.22
Reference report · Evidence context: SynergisticProposed complement.22
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticProposed metabolic complement.22
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticCombination untested.22
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleNo matching interactions. Try another name or filter.
The checked prescription product is an IV-only aqueous solution; bacteriostatic-water reconstitution does not apply.3
Research-market SC or IM mixtures are not interchangeable with the checked IV label.3
Reported handling information, not a validated formulation or instruction to prepare an injectable product.
The source describes a ready-made sterile injectable solution.
The source distinguishes capsules, tablets and powders across different carnitine forms.
Appearance and a purity certificate cannot establish sterility, identity, or suitability for injection.
1 g/5 mL or 4 g/20 mL single-dose vials, both 200 mg/mL. These are liquid prescription presentations, not research powders.3
Packaging examples, not a market survey. Approved and research products are not interchangeable.
The available sources describe prepared products or do not establish a reconstitution method.22
Room temperature unopened; refrigerate after opening
Room temperature, cool dry place
Storage depends on the formulation, diluent, container, and handling. Follow the specific product label or pharmacist’s instructions.
Research-market product identity, purity and formulation cannot be established from a publication.1
5 distinct primary sources or abstracts checked. Evidence may concern a parent compound, individual blend ingredient, animal, or cell model; it does not necessarily establish a benefit for this exact product.
Evidence definitions →Source compatibility labels and '100% bioavailability' claims cannot be generalized to all injection routes.
A nutrient and prescription drug for defined deficiency settings. Oral supplementation, intravenous clinical therapy and research-market injections have different evidence and exposure.
Levocarnitine has prescription deficiency indications; research-market athletic injections are not the same formulation.
Levocarnitine, R-enantiomer inner salt4
Mitochondrial fatty-acid shuttling; ALCAR, LCLT and propionyl-carnitine findings are formulation-specific.22
The 2025 placebo-controlled crossover study did not find improved CrossFit performance after acute L-carnitine supplementation. It does not evaluate injectable use.
1A dialysis trial compared 500 mg orally three times daily with 20 mg/kg IV after dialysis for 24 weeks. Its anemia findings cannot establish fat-loss or performance benefit.
2Carnitine deficiency. CARNITOR injection is labeled for specified metabolic disorders and prevention/treatment of deficiency in dialysis patients. This does not establish a performance benefit.21
Deficiency and dialysis research. Defined clinical settings differ from weight-loss injections.2
Deficiency and dialysis. Approved product/route-specific replacement.22
Weight and energy. Modest oral trial effects; not proof of injectable fat loss.22
Heart and circulation. Cardiac/PAD studies vary by formulation.22
Cognition, exercise and fertility. ALCAR, LCLT and sperm-parameter research; not interchangeable outcomes.22
Performance discussions as described by Pep-Pedia.5
No representative survey, independently verified products, or controlled outcomes.
The targeted check identified relevant additional literature or current regulatory information; checked findings are separated from retained bibliography-only references.
AI-prepared summaries. Independent medical editorial review is pending.
Voluntary, unverified reports. These percentages do not measure effectiveness or safety.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 1 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source hides 2 additional categories. Their labels and percentages are unavailable.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source displays “264 responses” for this profile. This is not a confirmed participant count or a denominator for individual questions.
Original sources and review status. Open a reference to read its summary.
2025 randomized crossover trial did not find an acute performance benefit from oral supplementation.
The 2025 placebo-controlled crossover study did not find improved CrossFit performance after acute L-carnitine supplementation. It does not evaluate injectable use.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
2025 trial compared oral and IV routes in dialysis patients over 24 weeks; IV treatment showed larger improvements in measured hematologic outcomes.
A dialysis trial compared 500 mg orally three times daily with 20 mg/kg IV after dialysis for 24 weeks. Its anemia findings cannot establish fat-loss or performance benefit.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
Ready-to-use IV solution, 200 mg/mL, for specified deficiency indications. Label lists seizures, severe hypersensitivity and a warfarin INR interaction.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
Chemical registry identity, molecular formula and molecular weight; not clinical efficacy evidence.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
Accessed October 12, 2026. Secondary descriptions and bibliography; community schedules are unvalidated reports, not recommendations.
Pep-Pedia reports: The meta-analysis reported modest pooled changes: weight −1.21 kg, BMI −0.24 kg/m² and fat mass −2.08 kg.
Reported population / model
37 RCTs
Reported study details
2,292 participants · Various doses · Significant weight reduction
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Pooled older cardiac trials associated supplementation with lower mortality, arrhythmia and angina; trial quality and applicability require examination.
Reported population / model
13 controlled trials
Reported study details
3,629 participants · Meta-analysis · Mortality outcomes
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: A five-week placebo-controlled study reported less soreness and lower creatine kinase after strenuous exercise with L-carnitine L-tartrate.
Reported population / model
73 participants
Reported study details
2g/day · 5 weeks · Double-blind placebo-controlled
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The pooled infertility studies reportedly improved several sperm measures; laboratory semen endpoints do not necessarily predict pregnancy or live birth.
Reported population / model
Meta-analysis
Reported study details
Multiple RCTs · 2g/day · Sperm parameters and hormones
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The analysis concerns acetyl-L-carnitine in MCI/early Alzheimer's, not interchangeable evidence for every L-carnitine formulation.
Reported population / model
Double-blind RCTs
Reported study details
MCI and mild AD patients · 3 months minimum · Clinical scales
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: The umbrella analysis reports lower total cholesterol, triglycerides and LDL, with higher HDL across heterogeneous populations.
Reported population / model
13 meta-analyses pooled
Reported study details
Multiple populations · Comprehensive lipid outcomes
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Listed in Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; the linked publication and its findings have not been independently verified in this pass.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Lists a half-life of 17 hrs and a peak time of 3.5 hrs. Stated attribution: FDA Carnitor Label. This value is reported by a secondary reference. The stated attribution has not been independently verified as a route- and formulation-matched human PK measurement. Five half-lives is not complete clearance, and the source’s “cleared” value is not used as a measured endpoint.
Secondary reference page checked; the underlying quantitative claim is not independently confirmed. · Checked 2026-10-12
The label reports an apparent terminal half-life of 17.4 hours following a slow IV bolus, using plasma concentrations uncorrected for endogenous levocarnitine. Its separate 3.3-hour peak measurement is from oral dosing; the two are not combined into one IV absorption curve.
Source page checked across available routes. Protocols, cycles, storage, mechanisms and pairing claims are secondary reports; checking the page does not independently validate those claims. Original concise summaries are used here.
Content coverage audit · Checked 2026-10-12