Aging and cognition
A 2025 analysis of 320,861 participants for cognition and 29,510 for brain volume found no KL-VS heterozygosity association with these outcomes. No Klotho product was administered.1
Aging-associated protein family
No FDA-approved product identified for this exact research entry in the targeted review.
A 2025 analysis of 320,861 participants for cognition and 29,510 for brain volume found no KL-VS heterozygosity association with these outcomes. No Klotho product was administered.1
An exact sequence has not been verified for this formulation.
The catalog name does not specify a verified recombinant construct.
This value is reported by a secondary reference. The stated attribution has not been independently verified as a route- and formulation-matched human PK measurement.
Illustrative scenario using an unverified reference estimate.
Five half-lives in this estimated model. This is not a prediction of when effects stop.
Population: Not established by the reference estimate
Source’s stated attribution: Castner et al. 2023 Nature Aging (PMID 37400721) - NHP cognitive study
Source’s reported peak time: 1.2 hrs. This has not been independently confirmed and is not used in the elimination curve.
100 × 2−time / half-life. Time zero is a reference level, not the moment of administration. Absorption, repeated dosing, metabolites and clinical effects are not modeled. Five half-lives leaves 3.125%, not zero. This curve cannot determine a dosing interval.
Genetic or circulating-protein associations cannot establish benefits of injecting recombinant Klotho.1
No verified human protocol or quantified community report included.
Study and label doses retain their study context. Reference reports are unvalidated practices, not personal treatment instructions. Ranges remain ranges; escalation stages are labeled.
Reported use periods and breaks. These do not establish a safe cycle or prove that breaks prevent tolerance.
Not established
Laboratory exposures cannot establish a human dose.
Scroll to compare all columns →
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Goal / evidence | Duration | References |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SubQ | 10 mcg/kg subcutaneous (recombinant KL1 domain) | Single dose (acute model) | Research Protocol (Mouse, cognition)Reference report | Not specified | 17 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels do not establish safety. Exercise-associated endogenous changes are different from recombinant administration; pregnancy safety unknown. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
| SubQ | 10 mcg/kg subcutaneous (rhesus recombinant KL1; Castner et al. 2023, Nature Aging) | Single dose; higher doses (20-30 mcg/kg) showed no cognitive benefit (inverted U-shaped dose response) | Research Protocol (Nonhuman Primate, cognition)Reference report | Not specified | 17 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source compatibility labels do not establish safety. Exercise-associated endogenous changes are different from recombinant administration; pregnancy safety unknown. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
No protocols match these filters.
Human dosing, immunogenicity and long-term safety of catalog products were not established.
1Different recombinant fragments and constructs cannot share one assumed molecular weight or half-life.
1Recombinant identity, antibodies and consumer-product quality unresolved.
Kidney disease increases concern about calcium/phosphate/vitamin-D effects.
Cramps, tetany, numbness, weakness, allergy or cardiovascular/neurological symptoms.
Not a complete safety screen. Discuss health decisions with a qualified clinician.
Check cautions and reported pairings. A compatibility claim does not establish that a combination is safe.
Mineral/metabolism effects.17
Reference report · Evidence context: Monitor combinationPotentially opposing signaling.17
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Monitor CombinationPhysiological receptor relationship; mineral monitoring.17
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Use CautionUntested mechanism complement.17
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleUntested mechanism complement.17
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleUntested mechanism complement.17
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleUntested pairing.17
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleNo exact-product human interaction study was verified; lack of evidence is not evidence of safety.2
Research contextNo matching interactions. Try another name or filter.
No product-specific preparation or stability instruction was verified. A dilution calculation does not establish suitability for injection.2
Reported handling information, not a validated formulation or instruction to prepare an injectable product.
The source describes institutionally produced recombinant sKlotho or KL1 research protein, not a consumer peptide-vial preparation.
It identifies no standard personal-use reconstitution protocol and warns against unverified material.
Appearance and a purity certificate cannot establish sterility, identity, or suitability for injection.
No verified packaging examples included.
Packaging examples, not a market survey. Approved and research products are not interchangeable.
The checked sources do not establish how long this research preparation remains stable and sterile after mixing.17
Recombinant protein: 2-8°C; do not freeze repeatedly. No lyophilized consumer product exists.
Storage depends on the formulation, diluent, container, and handling. Follow the specific product label or pharmacist’s instructions.
Genetic or circulating-protein associations cannot establish benefits of injecting recombinant Klotho.1
1 distinct primary sources or abstracts checked. Evidence may concern a parent compound, individual blend ingredient, animal, or cell model; it does not necessarily establish a benefit for this exact product.
Evidence definitions →Source compatibility labels do not establish safety. Exercise-associated endogenous changes are different from recombinant administration; pregnancy safety unknown.
Klotho research includes genetic associations, soluble proteins and recombinant fragments. Animal cognition experiments do not establish the benefits of Klotho injections in people.
No FDA-approved product identified for this exact research entry in the targeted review.
Klotho protein family / recombinant preparations1
1,012 amino acids (full alpha-Klotho precursor, human) · ~130 kDa (full-length transmembrane form); ~65 kDa (soluble KL1 domain, shed form)
Reference description; checked chemical identity takes precedence when available.17
FGF23 co-receptor plus proposed IGF-1, antioxidant, Wnt and synaptic signaling; full-length, soluble and KL1 forms differ.17
A 2025 analysis of 320,861 participants for cognition and 29,510 for brain volume found no KL-VS heterozygosity association with these outcomes. No Klotho product was administered.
1Aging and cognition research. A 2025 analysis of 320,861 participants for cognition and 29,510 for brain volume found no KL-VS heterozygosity association with these outcomes. No Klotho product was administered.1
Cognition and neuroprotection. Animal memory/degeneration models and human genetic associations.17
Aging. Mouse lifespan findings and human biomarker associations.17
Heart and kidney/minerals. Rodent fibrosis findings; phosphate/vitamin-D regulation.17
Pep-Pedia discusses cognition and renal research.2
See the attributed editorial reports below.
Editorial summary, not a measured community survey, clinical protocol or recommendation.
Added a large 2025 human genetic analysis with a null association; genetic observations do not establish recombinant-protein treatment efficacy.
AI-prepared summaries. Independent medical editorial review is pending.
Voluntary, unverified reports. These percentages do not measure effectiveness or safety.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source displays “10 responses” for this profile. This is not a confirmed participant count or a denominator for individual questions.
Original sources and review status. Open a reference to read its summary.
A large human genetic analysis found no association between KL-VS heterozygosity and cognition or brain volume across the examined strata. It did not administer Klotho.
A 2025 analysis of 320,861 participants for cognition and 29,510 for brain volume found no KL-VS heterozygosity association with these outcomes. No Klotho product was administered.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
Secondary editorial profile and reported practices; not clinical validation.
Pep-Pedia reports: Klotho-deficient mice developed an accelerated-aging phenotype. Gene deficiency and overexpression studies are distinct from administering recombinant protein.
Reported population / model
Mouse
Reported study details
KL-deficient model · Lifespan observation · Full accelerated-aging phenotype
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Transgenic Klotho-overexpressing mice lived about 20–30% longer; this does not establish a lifespan effect from Klotho injections.
Reported population / model
Mouse
Reported study details
Klotho-overexpressing transgenic · Lifespan study · 20-30% lifespan extension
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: A human genetic variant was associated with better cognitive performance; engineered-mouse findings add mechanism but do not establish human treatment causality.
Reported population / model
Human & Mouse
Reported study details
KL-VS genetic variant analysis · Observational + mouse model · Improved cognitive performance, synaptic plasticity
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: A peripheral recombinant Klotho preparation reportedly improved aged-mouse cognition for about two weeks; the exact protein/domain and route require verification.
Reported population / model
Mouse (aged)
Reported study details
Recombinant KL1 domain · Single injection IV · Improved working memory, synaptic plasticity lasting weeks
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Klotho deficiency worsened mouse renal fibrosis, while gene delivery reduced fibrotic signaling in the experimental model.
Reported population / model
Mouse
Reported study details
KL-deficient / CKD model · Variable duration · Progressive renal fibrosis, accelerated decline
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Low serum Klotho was associated with higher mortality in an observational cohort; biomarker association is not evidence that supplementation extends life.
Reported population / model
Human
Reported study details
NHANES observational cohort · Multi-year follow-up · Low Klotho predicts mortality
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Reference retained from Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; findings and bibliographic accuracy have not been independently verified.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Reference retained from Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; findings and bibliographic accuracy have not been independently verified.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Reference retained from Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; findings and bibliographic accuracy have not been independently verified.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Reference retained from Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; findings and bibliographic accuracy have not been independently verified.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Reference retained from Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; findings and bibliographic accuracy have not been independently verified.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Reference retained from Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; findings and bibliographic accuracy have not been independently verified.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Reference retained from Pep-Pedia’s bibliography; findings and bibliographic accuracy have not been independently verified.
Pep-Pedia bibliography · Checked 2026-10-12
Lists a half-life of 12 hrs and a peak time of 1.2 hrs. Stated attribution: Castner et al. 2023 Nature Aging (PMID 37400721) - NHP cognitive study. This value is reported by a secondary reference. The stated attribution has not been independently verified as a route- and formulation-matched human PK measurement. Five half-lives is not complete clearance, and the source’s “cleared” value is not used as a measured endpoint.
Secondary reference page checked; the underlying quantitative claim is not independently confirmed. · Checked 2026-10-12
Source page checked across available routes. Protocols, cycles, storage, mechanisms and pairing claims are secondary reports; checking the page does not independently validate those claims. Original concise summaries are used here.
Content coverage audit · Checked 2026-10-12