Cellular signaling
In female mice, five days of treatment changed 234 of 15,247 measured cardiac transcript clones, corresponding to 110 genes. This establishes a laboratory signal, not a clinical benefit.1
AEDP tetrapeptide
No FDA-approved product identified for this exact research entry in the targeted review.
In female mice, five days of treatment changed 234 of 15,247 measured cardiac transcript clones, corresponding to 110 genes. This establishes a laboratory signal, not a clinical benefit.1
4 residues · N → C2
A–E–D–PFree peptide identity; salt and formulation can change product mass.
The source identifies this as a class-level inference, not a measured half-life for this compound.
Illustrative scenario using an unverified reference estimate.
Five half-lives in this estimated model. This is not a prediction of when effects stop.
Population: Not established by the reference estimate
Source’s stated attribution: Class-level inference for unmodified linear tetrapeptides
Source’s reported peak time: 0 min. This has not been independently confirmed and is not used in the elimination curve.
100 × 2−time / half-life. Time zero is a reference level, not the moment of administration. Absorption, repeated dosing, metabolites and clinical effects are not modeled. Five half-lives leaves 3.125%, not zero. This curve cannot determine a dosing interval.
In female mice, five days of treatment changed 234 of 15,247 measured cardiac transcript clones, corresponding to 110 genes. This establishes a laboratory signal, not a clinical benefit.1
Measured nerve changes; no human subjective or treatment timeline established.17
These are reported timelines, not a prediction of your response.
Scroll to compare all columns →
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Goal / evidence | Duration | References |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SubQ | 200-400 mcg | Daily for 10-20 days; repeat after 3-6 months | Community Protocol (Anecdotal, no peer-reviewed support)Reference report | 10-20 days | 17 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
No protocols match these filters.
Study and label doses retain their study context. Reference reports are unvalidated practices, not personal treatment instructions. Ranges remain ranges; escalation stages are labeled.
Reported use periods and breaks. These do not establish a safe cycle or prove that breaks prevent tolerance.
Morning administration
Laboratory exposures cannot establish a human dose.
Scroll to compare all columns →
| Route | Dose | Frequency | Goal / evidence | Duration | References |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unspecified | Not specified | Daily | Cardiac gene-expression responseSix-month-old female CBA miceAnimals | Five days | 1 |
Population Six-month-old female CBA mice Context Preclinical microarray experiment; no human dose conversion. Route information Injection; route not specified in abstract | |||||
| IMIM (intramuscular) | 10 mcg/kg IM | Daily for 10 days post-nerve injury | Research Protocol (Rat Nerve Regeneration Model)Reference report | 10-20 days | 17 |
Population Population not independently verified; see the reference and linked research. Context Reported in Pep-Pedia’s educational protocol table. Study attribution and applicability to this exact product are not independently established. Source tabs Injectable | |||||
No protocols match these filters.
Mouse gene-expression changes cannot establish a safe dose or clinical benefit in people.
1Long-term toxicity and interactions of research Cortagen were not established by this experiment.
1Injection infection, persistent inflammation, unexpected neurological symptoms or allergy need assessment.
No dedicated human safety trial; absent reported animal harms is not proven safety. Pregnancy/lactation unstudied.
Not a complete safety screen. Discuss health decisions with a qualified clinician.
Check cautions and reported pairings. A compatibility claim does not establish that a combination is safe.
AEDR differs from AEDP; verify identity.17
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Use CautionOverlapping neurological targets.17
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Use CautionNo data for warfarin, DOACs or antiplatelets.17
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: Monitor CombinationNo combination study.17
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: SynergisticShared ex vivo experiments do not validate co-use.17
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleShared ex vivo experiments do not validate co-use.17
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleNo interaction data.17
Reference report · Pep-Pedia label: CompatibleNo interaction studies.17
Reference report · Evidence context: UnknownNo exact-product human interaction study was verified; lack of evidence is not evidence of safety.3
Research contextNo matching interactions. Try another name or filter.
No product-specific preparation or stability instruction was verified. A dilution calculation does not establish suitability for injection.3
Reported handling information, not a validated formulation or instruction to prepare an injectable product.
Pep-Pedia says the preparation conventions are inferred from related short peptides, without published human PK.
The source describes gentle mixing and avoiding vigorous shaking.
Appearance and a purity certificate cannot establish sterility, identity, or suitability for injection.
No verified packaging examples included.
Packaging examples, not a market survey. Approved and research products are not interchangeable.
Pep-Pedia reports these handling limits after mixing. They are not validated stability or sterility limits for your vial.
Storage depends on the formulation, diluent, container, and handling. Follow the specific product label or pharmacist’s instructions.
No controlled human benefit or pharmacokinetic study was verified for this exact tetrapeptide.1
2 distinct primary sources or abstracts checked. Evidence may concern a parent compound, individual blend ingredient, animal, or cell model; it does not necessarily establish a benefit for this exact product.
Evidence definitions →Cortagen is the sequence Ala-Glu-Asp-Pro. Research includes neural injury models and cellular gene-expression experiments; a human treatment trial was not verified.
No FDA-approved product identified for this exact research entry in the targeted review.
Ala-Glu-Asp-Pro (AEDP)2
4 amino acids (tetrapeptide) · 430.41 Da
Ala-Glu-Asp-Pro (H-A-E-D-P-OH)Reference description; checked chemical identity takes precedence when available.17
Gene regulation, antioxidant effects and chromatin remodeling are proposed; no established human brain effect.17
In female mice, five days of treatment changed 234 of 15,247 measured cardiac transcript clones, corresponding to 110 genes. This establishes a laboratory signal, not a clinical benefit.
1Cellular signaling. In female mice, five days of treatment changed 234 of 15,247 measured cardiac transcript clones, corresponding to 110 genes. This establishes a laboratory signal, not a clinical benefit.1
Nerves. Rat peripheral regeneration, cerebral-ischemia behavior and oxidative injury.17
Cognition / aging. Cortex-biogenesis and chromatin claims derive partly from elderly lymphocytes, not neurons or treated patients.17
Pep-Pedia discusses neural repair research.3
Editorial summary, not a measured community survey, clinical protocol or recommendation.
Checked the original mouse gene-expression experiment. An apparently recent online record describes a 2013 preclinical paper, not a new clinical trial.
AI-prepared summaries. Independent medical editorial review is pending.
Voluntary, unverified reports. These percentages do not measure effectiveness or safety.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
Number of responses to this question: not disclosed.
The source displays “10 responses” for this profile. This is not a confirmed participant count or a denominator for individual questions.
Original sources and review status. Open a reference to read its summary.
Female mice received Cortagen for five days; the study measured cardiac gene-expression changes, not recovery or cognition in patients.
In female mice, five days of treatment changed 234 of 15,247 measured cardiac transcript clones, corresponding to 110 genes. This establishes a laboratory signal, not a clinical benefit.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
Chemical registry entry for the AEDP tetrapeptide.
Additional research · Checked 2026-10-12
Secondary editorial profile and reported practices; not clinical validation.
Pep-Pedia reports: After rat sciatic-nerve repair, growth rate was reported as 27% higher and conduction velocity 40% higher than untreated controls.
Reported population / model
Wistar rat
Reported study details
10 mcg/kg IM x 10 days · Post-nerve transection · +27% growth rate, +40% conduction velocity
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Cortagen and Cortexin improved behavior and reduced excess brain lipid oxidation in rat ischemia experiments; they are different preparations.
Reported population / model
Rat
Reported study details
Chronic cerebral ischemia model · Cortagen vs. Cortexin · Behavioral recovery + antioxidant
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Rat tissues showed less lipid and protein oxidation after injections, together with lower antioxidant-enzyme activity; a similar pattern occurred with Epitalon.
Reported population / model
Wistar rat
Reported study details
IM injection · Lipid peroxidation endpoints · Reduced LPO products and protein oxidation
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Five peptides altered chromatin packing and ribosomal-gene activity in elderly-donor leukocytes; tissue-specific clinical benefit was not measured.
Reported population / model
Human ex vivo
Reported study details
Donors aged 75-88 · Panel of 5 Khavinson peptides · Heterochromatin decondensation
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Mouse heart tissue showed changes in 234 cDNA signals covering 110 known genes after five days, despite Cortagen's proposed neurological target.
Reported population / model
CBA female mice
Reported study details
5-day Cortagen course · Microarray · 234 gene expression changes in heart
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Elderly-donor lymphocytes showed selective chromatin changes after several peptides; the report does not establish improved cognition or aging outcomes.
Reported population / model
Human ex vivo
Reported study details
Donors aged 75-88 · Lezhava-Jokhadze group · Selective heterochromatin remodeling
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: After rat sciatic-nerve repair, growth rate was reported as 27% higher and conduction velocity 40% higher than untreated controls.
Reported population / model
Wistar rat
Reported study details
10 mcg/kg IM x 10 days · Post-nerve transection · +27% growth rate, +40% conduction velocity
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Cortagen and Cortexin improved behavior and reduced excess brain lipid oxidation in rat ischemia experiments; they are different preparations.
Reported population / model
Rat
Reported study details
Chronic cerebral ischemia model · Cortagen vs. Cortexin · Behavioral recovery + antioxidant
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Rat tissues showed less lipid and protein oxidation after injections, together with lower antioxidant-enzyme activity; a similar pattern occurred with Epitalon.
Reported population / model
Wistar rat
Reported study details
IM injection · Lipid peroxidation endpoints · Reduced LPO products and protein oxidation
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Five peptides altered chromatin packing and ribosomal-gene activity in elderly-donor leukocytes; tissue-specific clinical benefit was not measured.
Reported population / model
Human ex vivo
Reported study details
Donors aged 75-88 · Panel of 5 Khavinson peptides · Heterochromatin decondensation
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Mouse heart tissue showed changes in 234 cDNA signals covering 110 known genes after five days, despite Cortagen's proposed neurological target.
Reported population / model
CBA female mice
Reported study details
5-day Cortagen course · Microarray · 234 gene expression changes in heart
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Pep-Pedia reports: Elderly-donor lymphocytes showed selective chromatin changes after several peptides; the report does not establish improved cognition or aging outcomes.
Reported population / model
Human ex vivo
Reported study details
Donors aged 75-88 · Lezhava-Jokhadze group · Selective heterochromatin remodeling
Reported by Pep-Pedia; the linked publication, design, doses and result have not been independently verified here.
Read the Pep-Pedia report ↗Pep-Pedia reference card; original summary of its reported findings · Checked 2026-10-12
Lists a half-life of 5 min and a peak time of 0 min. Stated attribution: Class-level inference for unmodified linear tetrapeptides. The source identifies this as a class-level inference, not a measured half-life for this compound. Five half-lives is not complete clearance, and the source’s “cleared” value is not used as a measured endpoint.
Secondary reference page checked; the underlying quantitative claim is not independently confirmed. · Checked 2026-10-12
Source page checked across available routes. Protocols, cycles, storage, mechanisms and pairing claims are secondary reports; checking the page does not independently validate those claims. Original concise summaries are used here.
Content coverage audit · Checked 2026-10-12